Peg366's Blog

MORE ON DORI BUTLER.

Posted on: March 17, 2010

I  love it when authors pull from their lives to write their books. It makes me want to read more of their books because I feel a connection with them.

 When I was doing the interview with Dori Butler we exchanged several emails back and forth. I was really intrigued about one of her books (Alexandra Hopewell, Labor Coach, Albert Whitman (Morton Grove, IL), 2005)  and the reason behind her writing it. 

I just love Dori and her pet.

Here’s one portion of an email from Dori that I thought my readers might like to read. 

Peg, ****( I have removed a portion of this email as it was not related to what I’m talking about here)

“You wanted to know where the idea for Alexandra Hopewell, Labor Coach came from. I did list midwife as one of those careers I’d have if I wasn’t a writer. But it’s more than that. When I was pregnant with my second child, my older child wanted to be there when the baby was born. He REALLY wanted to be there. And to make a long story short, he was there for the actual birth…in fact, he cut his brother’s umbilical cord. I always knew I’d put that in a story someday. I also helped out a friend’s home birth years ago. My job was to sit with the older child, answer questions, take the child out of the room if it got to be too much for her. Obviously the decision to have siblings present at birth is not a decision to be made lightly…and it’s not something that’s right for every child and family. But there should be a book or two out there for families that are considering it. That’s where Alexandra Hopewell, Labor Coach came from.”

 Dori

With all the interviews I’ve conducted thus far, (five interviews with authors Dy Nees, Nina Johnson, Linda Skeers, Rebecca Janni and Dori Butler) one of the attractions to interview these authors lies in their abilities to reach inward and pull from their life experiences to write books that are “real”.

More books by Dori Butler to check out .

The Great Tooth Fairy Rip-Off, illustrated by Jack Lindstrom, Fairview Press (Minneapolis, MN), 1997.

M Is for Minnesota, illustrated by Janice Lee Porter, University of Minnesota Press (Minneapolis, MN), 1998.

W Is for Wisconsin, illustrated by Eileen Potts Dawson, Trails Media Group (Madison, WI), 1998.

ABC’s of Wisconsin, illustrated by Alison Relyea, Trails Media Group (Madison, WI), 2000.

H Is for Hoosier, illustrated by Eileen Potts Dawson, Trails Media Group (Black Earth, WI), 2001.

Sliding into Home, Peachtree (Atlanta, GA), 2003.

Trading Places with Tank Talbott, Albert Whitman (Morton Grove, IL), 2003.

Whodunnit: How the Police Solve Crimes, Perfection Learning, 2004.

My Mom’s Having a Baby!, illustrated by Carol Thompson, Albert Whitman (Morton Grove, IL), 2005.

Do You Know the Monkey Man?, Peachtree (Atlanta, GA), 2005.

Alexandra Hopewell, Labor Coach, Albert Whitman (Morton Grove, IL), 2005.

Tank Talbott’s Guide to Girls, Albert Whitman (Morton Grove, IL), 2006.

Zoe’s Potty, Running Press (Philadelphia, PA), 2006.

Zack’s Potty, Running Press (Philadelphia, PA), 2006.

Contributor of short fiction to periodicals, including Child Life, Children’s Digest, Cricket, Spider, Highlights for Children, Guidepost for Teens, and various parenting and Sunday-school publications. Ghostwriter for “Sweet Valley Twins” and “Boxcar Children” novel series; author of scripts for classroom plays published by Benchmark Education; author of reading curricula.

1 Response to "MORE ON DORI BUTLER."

Recently my 9 year-old golden retriever began having problems standing on wood floors, his back paws would slide sideways and he would have trouble holding himself up or otherwise walking. This was especially true when he first woke up in the morning, his back legs seemed stiff and he also had trouble going down stairs. He did not have as much trouble on carpets or outside, but it was clear he was having some joint issues.

Leave a Reply

peg366


I am an aspiring picturebook writer with some magazine credits just no picture book contract yet. I know it is coming and I am more than willing to work for it.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

July 2009

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Twitter.com/peg366

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

My Favorites:

I love the children's movies Wizard of Oz and the Neverending Story. Both movies make me feel the lesson that hope is alive and well. After seeing UP this past week, it just might have a chance at being added to this list.

I love the cool colors of blues and purples.Those colors are peaceful for me.

I love The Velveteen Rabbit. Even as an adult, I still feel the urge to cry when he becomes real. I know, silly, but a good book can make me laugh and cry as it takes me on a magical journey.

Authors and Illustrators:

Authors, Author/Illustrator, Illustrators that I know and/or Like.

Catergories:

C= Children

MG= Mid Grade

T= Teen

YA= Young Adult

A= Adult

Names:

Bonnie Adamson *

Kathi Appelt *

Tedd Arnold

Avi

Natalie Babbit

Molly Bang

Bonnie Becker

Jan and Stan Berenstain

Judy Blume

Tracey M. Cox

Linda Crotta Brennan *

Jan Brett

Janie Bynum *

Eric Carle

Pam Calvert

Nancy Carlson

Beverly Cleary

Kevin Scott Collier

Sharon Creech

Doreen Cronnin

Tomie dePaulo

Kate DiCamillo

Kathleen Duey *

Dotti Enderle

Jan Fields *

Denise Fleming

Mem Fox

Kelley Milner Hall

Amy Heist

Kevin Henkes

Ellen Jackson *

Jeff Kinney

Jackie French Koller

Ursula K. LeGuin

Leo Lionni

Lois Lowry

Mercer Mayer

Robert Munsch

Laura Numeroff

Linda Sue Parks

Dav Pilkey

Patricia Polacco

Peggy Rathmann

Bethany Roberts

David Shannon

Aaron Shepard

Donna J. Shepherd *

Cynthia Leitich Smith

Jerry Spinelli

Diane Stanley

Chris Van Allsburg

Rick Walton *

Lisa Wheeler

Mo Willems

Karma Wilson *

Audrey Woods

Jane Yolen *

Favorite Websites:

http://www.institutechildrenslit.net/

http://www.cbiclubhouse.com/

http://www.scbwi.org/

http://www.underdown.org/

http://www.verlakay.com/

http://www.cynthialeitichsmith.com

Favorite Blogs:

• ShelfTalker: A Children’s Bookseller’s Blog
• Alice’s CWIM Blog
• A Fuse #8 Production
• Cynsations
• Nathan Bransford – Literary Agent
• Editorial Anonymous
• Miss Snark’s First Victim
• Writing for children and teens

Favorite Quotes.

RSS Facebook.Com

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
